Table of Contents Hide
Gmail is a great application for professional as well as personal use. It offers many features, such as sharing bulky files through google drive and prescheduling emails. With the advent of unlimited data packs, affordable wi-fi plans, and above all, COVID-19, you can find almost everyone using social media.
The line between professional and fun sites has diminished beyond the visible horizon. Blocking someone is a common idea on leisure sites like Instagram, Facebook, etc. E.g., you probably wouldn’t want your extended family to watch your reels or stories and target you the next time you meet.
As I mentioned before, professional and personal boundaries in our online lives are diminishing quite rapidly, and people have even started blocking others on Gmail too. Astonishing right?
Why would someone need to block you on Gmail? Don’t want to read a mail, don’t open it. Simple. For some people, it may not be that simple.
Your choice. After all, we live in a free world. But for you, it may matter a lot. You may be waiting for a client confirmation through that mail which you will never receive. It happens to me a lot. I cannot move to the next potential business unless I get closure confirmation from the first one. So how would you know if someone has blocked you on Gmail? Read here to know more.
How To Know If Someone Has Blocked You On Gmail?
There are no direct methods to know so. But don’t pull off your detective’s hat yet. Have a look at some alternatives to know if you are blocked, Sherlock Homes.
1. Through a laptop or desktop
- Open up your Gmail account from your laptop or desktop.
- Add the suspected blocker on Hangouts/ Google Chat.
- If the person of interest is not on your Hangout list, you can add them by clicking the “+” sign next to your name on the left of the Gmail Page.
- Once added, click on their name. A new pop-up window will appear.
- You can type your message there.
- When you hit enter, you will get the message “Message not delivered because the other person has blocked you”.
- That’s your cue that you have been blocked from Gmail as well as Hangout/ Chat.
2. Through smartphone
In case you want to check the same through your smartphone, you need to download “Google Chat” from the App store. The feature of Google Chat or Hangout is not available on Gmail App. Once downloaded and signed in, you can repeat the above process to confirm your doubts.
You might be tempted to think that if the person is not on your chat list, they might have already blocked you. Shortcuts don’t always work, my friend. You need to add them manually to know if they have blocked you. And if they have, no matter how many emails you may send them, you will always end up in their spam/ junk folder.
Read receipts can come to your rescue when in doubt.
If you fear that you have been blocked on Gmail, you can go through the route of checking the read receipts. You need to use the Chrome extension “MailTrack.” Once installed, you can keep track of the emails you send. You will be able to see if the emails have been opened or read as you see on apps like WhatsApp. Single tick refers to unread emails, while double tick shows that your mail has been read and that you are not blocked.
What Happens When You Block Someone On Gmail?
If you decide to block someone on Gmail because of their excessive emails, you don’t have to worry about them finding out. Gmail does not send any notification if anyone blocks anyone. Enjoy your peace while they are clueless that their numerous annoying emails are not reaching their intended destination, which is your inbox, and are lying in your spam folder.
How To Unblock Someone On Gmail?
If you ever decide to give a second chance to someone you have previously blocked, you need to unblock them.
You can do this by clicking any of their previous emails.
At the top of the Mail body, you will find the option to “unblock the sender.” Hit it, and you are good to go.
An alternative way will be to reach the settings of your mailbox and select “filters and blocked address.” Scroll down to the name you want to resume your conversation with and hit ‘unblock.’
How To Reach Someone Who Has Blocked You On Gmail?
If you know the blocker personally, you can contact them via phone call or SMS to let them know about the “blocked out” situation. It might be possible that their move was a mistake and unintentional. If they did it unintentionally, they could unblock you, and your email conversations may resume.
If you have no other way of reaching out to them, you can create another email account. You can then try to reach them at their original email address clarifying the situation you both are in. That might help you get back on their mailing list.
To sum up, blocked or not, digital means of communication need some boundaries too. If you have been blocked out by someone, you need to rethink why that could have happened in the first place. There might be a possibility of a repeat pattern in your behavior. It might be too imposing or impersonal. Once you know the issue, you might need to rectify it before it affects your business adversely. After all, it’s never too late to change.
It may also be the case that they simply don’t want too many sales and marketing emails to flood their inbox and might have blocked you to avoid that. Well, they have a right to do that. The best thing to do in this scenario will be to move along to the next client and not fret too much.
With that, we come to the end of this article. As you saw there are no direct methods to see if someone has blocked you or not, but there are a couple of ways through which you can check if someone has blocked you on Gmail. We hope this article was able to help you. If you have queries, you can leave them in the comment section below, and we will try our best to resolve them.